Want a replacemet script

Started by aron, May 21, 2006, 09:40:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

aron

Hi I'm quite new to this newLISP thing, but I was thinking mabe make a good replacement script/program, someone maybe alredy done one?

This is what I want:

Arguments:

Start string, End String, Replace string/textfile, file_list_to_replace_in

Description:

Replaces everyting betwean Start string and End string with the text from the replace string/textfile in all files from the file list and on all places in those files.

Some kind of example:
(replace-strings '<div class="thing" id="start">' '<!-- end of start -->' 'start.txt' ('index.html' 'page1.html' 'page3.html'))

Replaces everyting betwean all <div class="thing" id="start"> and <!-- end of start --> with the text from the start.txt in index.html,page1.html and page3.html.

Mabe make an option with a target file were a new file is created instead of changing the first one... this sounds easier.

All ideeas are wery appreciateed
newLISP browser: (print (replace \"<[^>]*>\" (get-url (read-line)) \"\" 0))

HJH

Quote from: "aron"

All ideeas are wery appreciateed

Well, perhaps

http://www.newlisp.org/DesignPatterns.html#text_processing">http://www.newlisp.org/DesignPatterns.h ... processing">http://www.newlisp.org/DesignPatterns.html#text_processing

is a start.

--HJH

Lutz

This is more or less what you want:

(define (replace-string start-str end-str repl-str file-list)
    (dolist (fle (file-list))
        (set 'page (read-file fle))
        (replace (append start-str "(.*?)" end-str) ; regular expr. pattern
                 page                               ; text file
                (append start-str repl-str end-str) ; the replacement text
                        0)    ; regex option number
        (write-file fle page) ; write file back todisk
    )
)